

ANNEXURE

BRIEF CVS OF THE OMBUD COUNCIL BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Ms. Deanne Wood - Chairman

Ms. Wood has been a Partner at Fasken Attorneys Inc. since January 2020 and is a head of Insurance Practice Group. Prior to that, she served as the Chief Executive Officer and Ombudsman for the Short-Term Insurance (STI) Ombudsman between 2016 and 2019. She was instrumental in designing the process for the merger of OSTI and the Long-Term Insurance Ombudsman which resulted in the appointment of a single Insurance Ombudsman in 2019.

Prior to her appointment at OSTI she was a practising advocate at the Johannesburg Bar. She was conferred a status as a Senior Counsel by the President in 2016. Her main areas of practice are within Commercial Law, Insurance Law, Pension Law, Financial Services and Regulatory Law.

Adv. Dikeledi Chabedi - Vice Chairman

Adv. Chabedi is currently a practicing Advocate of the High Court with more than twenty years of legal experience. She has been a member of the Pretoria Bar since 2007. One of her main areas of practice is within Financial Services Regulatory Law for the South African Reserve Bank, the Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA) and the Council for Medical Schemes. She was previously an Attorney and later held senior management positions in the public sector.

She holds a Bachelor of Laws degree (Blurs) and a Bachelor of Laws (LLB and postgraduate) degrees, both obtained from the then University of the North (now the





University of Limpopo). Adv. Chabedi brings legal experience in Financial Services

Regulatory Law, Tax Law, Commercial Law and General Civil Litigation. Her skills in

facilitation of Alternative Dispute Resolution mechanisms will be valuable in providing

leadership to the Board of the Ombud Council.

Ms. Eileen Meyer - Chief Ombud

Ms. Meyer is an Independent Consultant and a certified Executive Coach. She focuses on

Institutional Building and Capacity Development, Governance and Change Management. She

has extensive experience in the public sector, having held senior positions in the Parliament

of the Republic of South Africa, the Government Pensions Administration Agency (GPAA),

and various senior positions in the National Treasury. She holds a Master of Arts degree in

Sociology (Major), Psychology and Political Science from the University of Hanover

(Germany).

Ms. Katherine Gibson – Acting FSCA Commissioner

Ms. Gibson is FSCA's head of the Regulatory Policy Division and current Acting

Commissioner, until the new Commissioner assumes office, a role which is rotating amongst

members of the Transitional Management Committee since the FSCA's establishment in

2018.

With a background in trade and competition policy, she worked for and with the National

Treasury in the area of Financial Sector Policy for twelve years. Katherine was mainly

responsible for developing the conduct "peak" of South Africa's Twin Peaks framework.

Mr. Emmanuel Lekgau

Mr. Lekgau is currently heading the legal and compliance division of the Government

Employees Pension Fund (GEPF). He is an admitted Attorney of the High Court of South

Africa and has accumulated years of experience working in the financial services industry as

a legal advisor and a lawyer.

He holds a Post Graduate Diploma in Compliance from the University of Johannesburg (UJ),

an LLB degree, Master of Laws (LLM) degree in Corporate Law from the University of Pretoria

and a LLM degree in Labour and Social Security Law from University of South Africa.

Enquiries: Communications Unit Email: media@treasury.gov.za

Tel: (012) 315 5046





Ms. Silindile Kubheka

Ms. Khubeka is a seasoned finance professional with over eighteen years of experience in

both the government and private sector. She served as the Chief Financial Officer for the

National Treasury between 2016 and 2019.

She holds a Bachelor of Commence (BCom) Honours degree in Accounting from the then

University of Natal (now the University of Kwazulu-Natal), and qualified as Chartered

Accountant (SA) in 2010.

Mr. Adam Horowitz

Mr. Horowitz, now retired, served as the CEO and board member of Julius Baer International

UK Ltd, from 2013 to 2016. Prior to retiring, he was the Head of Wealth Management (UK,

Ireland and Israel) for the Bank of America Merrill Lynch in London from 2010 until 2013. He

has extensive board experience of international Financial Services Companies, including

Merrill Lynch South Africa. His experience with international banks has seen him leading

strategic initiatives to restructure and merge complex entities.

Ms. Charmaine Soobramoney

Ms. Soobramoney is currently an Independent Consultant who spent over two decades in

leadership, strategic, legal and operational roles within commerce and industry organisations

such as Old Mutual Wealth from 2009 until 2016 and the Association of Collective Investment

(ACI) from 2005 until 2009. She has served as a director on the Financial Sector Charter

Board and the Board of the Savings Institute of South Africa amongst others. Currently, she

serves as a non-executive director and a member of the audit and governance committees at

various organisations.

She holds a Master's degree in Financial Management from the University of London, a Higher

Diploma in Company Law from the University of Witwatersrand, and a Baccalaureus

Procurationis (BProc) in Law from the University of South Africa.

Issued by: Ministry of Finance

Date: 21 May 2021

Enquiries: Communications Unit Email: media@treasury.gov.za

Tel: (012) 315 5046



